Netherlands (Holland)

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Netherlands
The Netherlands (Holland) is the European part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Netherlands is a parliamentary democracy under a constitutional monarch, located in northwestern Europe. It borders the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east.

In many countries, the Netherlands is often referred to by the name Holland.  However widespread, this usage is incorrect in English, as Holland is a region in the central-western part of the Netherlands, consisting of two provinces.

The Netherlands is one of the most densely populated and geographically low-lying countries in the world (its name literally means "Low-lands") and is popularly famous for, among other things, its dikes, windmills, wooden shoes, tulips, bicycles and social tolerance. Its liberal policies (towards drugs and prostitution among other things) receive international attention.

The country is host to the International Court of Justice. Its capital is Amsterdam, as stated by the constitution, but The Hague is the seat of government, the home of the monarch. Most embassies are located in the Hague, as well.   Source

Netherlands Facts

Population: 17 million

: Amsterdam

Currency: Euro

Area: 41,526 km2

Language: Dutch

Main Religion
: Christian

Calling Code: +31

Time Zone: GMT + 1, Summer GMT + 2

Main Cities: Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague, Utrecht