Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Slovakia
Slovakia, The Slovak Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe with a population of over five million and an area of about 49,000 square kilometres (almost 19,000 square miles). It borders the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The largest city is its capital, Bratislava. Slovakia is a member state of the European Union, NATO, UN, OECD, WTO, UNESCO and other international organizations.

The Slavic people arrived in the territory of present day Slovakia between the fifth and sixth centuries AD during the Migration Period. In the course of history, various parts of Slovakia belonged to Samo's Empire (the first known political unit of Slavs), Great Moravia, Austro-Hungarian Empire, sovereigns of the Habsburg Empire and Czechoslovakia.

Independent Slovak state was created for a brief period during World War II, during which Slovakia was a protectorate state of Nazi Germany 1939-1944. From 1945 Slovakia once again became a part of Czechoslovakia. The present-day Slovakia became an independent state on January 1, 1993 after the dissolution of its federation with the Czech Republic.

Slovakia is a high-income advanced economy with the fastest growth rates in the EU and OECD. It joined the European Union in 2004 and joined the Eurozone on the 1st of January, 2009. Source

Slovakia Facts

Population: 5 million

Capital: Bratislava

Currency: Euro

Area: 49,035 km2

Language: Slovak  

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +421

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Košice, Prešov, Nitra, Trencín, Ĺ˝ilina, Banská Bystrica, Trnava, Bratislava