Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Slovenia
Slovenia, officially the Republic of Slovenia, is a country in Central Europe bordering Italy to the west, the Adriatic Sea to the southwest, Croatia to the south and east, Hungary to the northeast, and Austria to the north. The capital of Slovenia is Ljubljana.

At various points in Slovenia's history, the country has been part of the Roman Empire, partly the Republic of Venice, the principality Carantania (only modern Slovenia's northern part), the Holy Roman Empire, the Habsburg Monarchy, the Austrian Empire (later known as Austria-Hungary), the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs, the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (renamed to Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929); partly Kingdom of Italy, between the two World Wars, occupied by Germany, Italy, Hungary and Independent State of Croatia (1941–1945), and the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia from 1945 until gaining independence in 1991.

Slovenia is a member of the European Union, the Eurozone, the Schengen area, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, the Council of Europe and NATO. Source

Slovenia Facts

Population: 2 million

Capital: Ljubljana

Currency: Euro

Area: 20,273 km2

Language: Slovene

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +386

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Ljubljana, Maribor, Kranj, Celje, Koper