Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  Bhutan
The Kingdom of Bhutan is a landlocked nation in South Asia, located at the eastern end of the Himalaya Mountains and is bordered to the south, east and west by the Republic of India and to the north by People's Republic of China. Bhutan is separated from Nepal by the Indian state of Sikkim. The Bhutanese call their country Druk Yul which means "Land of the Thunder Dragon".

Bhutan used to be one of the most isolated nations in the world, but developments including direct international flights, the Internet, mobile phone networks, and cable television have increasingly opened the doors.

Bhutan's landscape ranges from subtropical plains in the south to the Himalayan heights in the north, with some peaks exceeding 7,000 metres (23,000 ft). The state religion is Vajrayana Buddhism, and the population is predominantly Buddhist, with Hinduism being the second-largest religion. The capital and largest city is Thimphu.

After centuries of direct monarchic rule, Bhutan held its first democratic elections in March 2008. Among other international associations, Bhutan is a member of the United Nations and the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC).  Source

Bhutan Facts

Population: 672 thousand

Capital: Thimphu

Currency: Ngultrum

Area: 47,000 km2

Language: Dzongkha, English

Main Religion: Buddhism

Calling Code
: +975

Time Zone: GMT + 6

Main Cities: Thimphu, Phuntsholing, Pajo, Tashigang, Mongar, Tongsa,  Daga, Paro, Ha, Panbang