East Timor

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  East Timor
East Timor, also known as Timor-Leste is a country in Southeast Asia. It comprises the eastern half of the island of Timor, the nearby islands of Atauro and Jaco, and Oecussi-Ambeno, an exclave on the northwestern side of the island, within Indonesian West Timor. The small country of 15,410 km² (5,400 sq mi) is located about 640 km (400 mi) northwest of Darwin, Australia.

East Timor was colonized by Portugal in the 16th century, and was known as Portuguese Timor until Portugal's decolonization of the country. In late 1975, East Timor declared its independence, but later that year was invaded and occupied by Indonesia and was declared Indonesia's 27th province the following year.

In 1999, following the United Nations-sponsored act of self-determination, Indonesia relinquished control of the territory and East Timor became the first new sovereign state of the 21st century on May 20, 2002. East Timor is one of only two predominantly Roman Catholic countries in Asia, the other being the Philippines.

East Timor is a lower-middle-income economy. But it is the only country in Asia to have a low Human Development Index (HDI) and is placed 158th among the world's states, the lowest in Asia. Source

East Timor Facts

Population: 1 million

Capital: Dili

Currency: US Dollar

Area: 14,874 km2

Language: Tetum, Portuguese

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +670

Time Zone
: GMT + 9

Main Cities: Dili, Gulung Dilarini, Ritutu, Los palos