French Polynesia

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Oceania  :  French Polynesia
French Polynesia is a French overseas collectivity in the southern Pacific Ocean. It is made up of several groups of Polynesian islands, the most famous island being Tahiti in the Society Islands group, which is also the most populous island and the seat of the capital of the territory (Papeete).

Although not an integral part of its territory, Clipperton Island was administered from French Polynesia until 2007.

The French annexed various Polynesian island groups during the 19th century. In September 1995, France stirred up widespread protests by resuming nuclear testing on the Mururoa atoll after a three-year moratorium. The tests were suspended in January 1996. In recent years, French Polynesia's autonomy has been considerably expanded.  Source 

French Polynesia  Facts

Population: 260 thousand

Capital: Papeete

Currency: CFP franc

Area: 4,167 km2

Language: French

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +689

Time Zone: GMT - 10

Main Cities: Faaa, Punaauia, Papeete