Solomon Islands

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Oceania  :  Salomon Islands
The Solomon Islands  is a country in Melanesia, east of Papua New Guinea, consisting of nearly one thousand islands. Together they cover a land mass of 28,400 square kilometres (10,965 sq mi). The capital is Honiara, located on the island of Guadalcanal.

The Solomon Islands are believed to have been inhabited by Melanesian people for thousands of years. The United Kingdom established a protectorate over the Solomon Islands in the 1890s. Some of the most bitter fighting of World War II occurred in the Solomon Islands campaign of 1942–45, including the Battle of Guadalcanal. Self-government was achieved in 1976 and independence two years later. The Solomon Islands is a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as the head of state.

Since 1998 ethnic violence, government misconduct and crime have undermined stability and society. In June 2003 an Australian-led multinational force, the Regional Assistance Mission to the Solomon Islands (RAMSI), arrived to restore peace, disarm ethnic militias and improve civil governance.

The North Solomon Islands are divided between the independent Solomon Islands and Bougainville Province in Papua New Guinea.  Source

Solomon Islands Facts

Population: 553 thousand

Capital: Honiara

Currency: Solomon Island’s dollar

Area: 28,896 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code
: +677

Time Zone: GMT + 11

Main Cities
: Honiara, Gizo, Auki, Tulaghi, Kirakira, Lata