Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan, officially the Kyrgyz Republic, is a country in Central Asia. Landlocked and mountainous, it is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest and China to the east.

The ethnonym "Kyrgyz", after which the country is named, is thought to originally mean either "forty girls" or "forty tribes", presumably referring to the epic hero Manas who, as legend has it, unified forty tribes against the Mongols. According to popular interpretations, the 40-ray sun on the flag of Kyrgyzstan symbolizes the forty tribes of Manas.  

The Kyrgyz have historically been semi-nomadic herders, living in round tents called yurts and tending sheep, horses and yaks. This nomadic tradition continues to function seasonally (see transhumance) as herding families return to the high mountain pasture (or jailoo) in the summer.  Source

Kyrgyzstan Facts

Population: 5 million

Capital: Bishkek

Currency: Som

Area: 199,900 km2

Language: Kyrgyz, Russian

Main Religion: Islam 75%

Calling Code: +996

Time Zone
: GMT + 5

Main Cities
: Bishkek, Osh, jalal-Abad, Karakol, Tokmok, Kara-Balta, Ozgon, Talas, Kyzyl-Kiya, Bazar-Kurgan