Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  Qatar
Qatar is an Arab emirate in the Middle East, occupying the small Qatar Peninsula on the northeasterly coast of the larger Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the south; otherwise the Persian Gulf surrounds the state. An oil-rich nation, Qatar has the second highest GDP per capita in the world according to the CIA World Factbook.

Sources say the name may derive from "Qatara", believed to refer to the Qatari town of Zubara, an important trading port and town in the region in ancient times. The word "Qatara" first appeared on Ptolemy's map of the Arabian Peninsula.

Qatar's main families: Al Sulaiti (known as the pearl divers) Al Ansari (known as the bread makers) Al Hashmi (known as the first bedu tribe) Al Kuwari (known as the descendants of the Iranian mountain of Koor) In addition to large Almarry tribe which extends into Saudi Arabia.

After centuries-long domination by the Ottoman and British empires, Qatar became an independent state on September 3, 1971 (but national celebration day is December 18).  Source

Qatar Facts

Population: 2 million

Capital: Doha

Currency: Riyal

Area: 11,437 km2

Language: Arabic

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +974

Time Zone: GMT + 3

Main Cities
: Doha, Ar Rayyan, Um Salal Muhammad, Al Wakrah, Dukhan, Al Wukayr, Al Ru’ays, Umm Bab, Al Ghuwayriya