The Republic of Kenya

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Kenya
The Republic of Kenya is a country in East Africa. Lying along the Indian Ocean, at the equator, Kenya is bordered by Ethiopia (north), Somalia (northeast), Tanzania (south), Uganda plus Lake Victoria (west), and Sudan (northwest).

The capital city is Nairobi, 2nd largest in Africa (after Cairo). Kenya spans an area about 85% the size of France or Texas. The population has grown rapidly in recent decades to nearly 38 million. Kenya has numerous wildlife reserves, containing thousands of animal species.

The country is named after Mount Kenya, a very significant landmark and the second among the highest mountain peaks of Africa, and both were originally usually pronounced /ˈkiːnjə/ in English although the native pronunciation and the one intended by the original transcription Kenia was [ˈkenia].

During the presidency of Jomo Kenyatta in the 1960s, the current pronunciation /ˈkɛnjə/ became widespread in English because his name was pronounced according to the original native pronunciation.[8] Before 1920, the area now known as Kenya was known as the British East Africa Protectorate and so there was no need to mention mount when referring to the mountain. Source

Republic of Kenya Facts

Population: 38 million

Capital: Nairobi

Currency: Kenyan Shilling

Area: 580,367 km2

Language: English
Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +254

Time Zone
: GMT +3

Main Cities:  Nairobi, Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru, Eldoret