United Arab Emirates

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  United Arab Emirates
The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman and Saudi Arabia. The seven states, termed emirates, are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Quwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah.

The UAE, rich in oil and natural gas, has become highly prosperous after gaining foreign direct investment funding in the 1970s. The country has a relatively high Human Development Index for the Asian continent, ranking 31st globally, and had a GDP purchasing power parity of $200.5 billion in 2009 according to the IMF.

Before 1971, the UAE were known as the Trucial States or Trucial Oman, in reference to a nineteenth-century truce between Britain and several Arab Sheikhs.

The name Pirate Coast was also used in reference to the area's emirates in the 18th to early 20th century. Source

United Arab Emirates Facts

Population: 5 million

Capital: Abu Dhabi

Currency: UAE dirham

Area: 83,600 km2

Language: Arabic

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +971

Time Zone: GMT + 4

Main Cities: Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Al’Ayn, Ajman, Ra’s Al Khaymah, Al Fujayrah, Umm al Qaywayn, Khawr Fakkan