Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Libya
Libya, officially the Great Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, is a country located in North Africa. Bordering the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Libya lies between Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad and Niger to the south, and Algeria and Tunisia to the west.

With an area of almost 1.8 million square kilometres (700,000 sq mi), 90% of which is desert, Libya is the fourth largest country in Africa by area, and the 17th largest in the world.

The capital, Tripoli, is home to 1.7 million of Libya's 5.7 million people. The three traditional parts of the country are Tripolitania, the Fezzan, and Cyrenaica. Libya has the fifth highest GDP (PPP) per capita of Africa, behind Botswana, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Seychelles. This is largely due to its large petroleum reserves and low population.

The flag of Libya consists of a green field with no other characteristics. It is the only national flag in the world with just one color and no design, insignia, or other details. Source

Libya Facts

Population: 5.7 million

Capital: Tripoli

Currency: Dinar

Area: 1,759,541 km2

Language: Arabic
Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +218

Time Zone: GMT +2

Main Cities:  Tripoli, Banghazi, al-Khums, Misratah, Tarabulus