Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  Uzbekistan
Uzbekistan, officially the Republic of Uzbekistan, is a doubly landlocked country in Central Asia, formerly part of the Soviet Union. It shares borders with Kazakhstan to the west and to the north, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan to the east, and Afghanistan and Turkmenistan to the south. Once part of the Persian Samanid and later Timurid empires, the region was conquered in the early 16th century by Uzbek nomads, who spoke an Eastern Turkic language.

Most of Uzbekistan’s population today belong to the Uzbek ethnic group and speak the Uzbek language, one of the family of Turkic languages. Uzbekistan was incorporated into the Russian Empire in the 19th century and in 1924 became a constituent republic of the Soviet Union, known as the Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic (Uzbek SSR). It has been an independent republic since December 1991.

The policy of gradual, strictly controlled transition has nevertheless produced beneficial results in the form of economic recovery after 1995. Uzbekistan's domestic policies of human rights and individual freedoms are often criticized by international organizations.  Source

Uzbekistan Facts

Population: 27 million

Capital: Tashkent

Currency: Uzbekistan som

Area: 447,400 km2

Language: Uzbek

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +998

Time Zone: GMT + 5

Main Cities: Tashkent, Namangan, Samargand, Andijon, Buxoro, Nukus, Qarshi, Qo’gon, Chirchig, Farq’ona