Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Asia  :  Yemen
Yemen, officially the Republic of Yemen is a country located on the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia. Yemen has an estimated population of more than 23 million people and is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the North, the Red Sea to the West, the Arabian Sea and Gulf of Aden to the South, and Oman to the east.

Yemen's size is just under 530,000 km2, and its territory includes over 200 islands, the largest of which is Socotra, about 415 kilometres (259 miles) to the south of Yemen, off the coast of Somalia. Yemen is the only republic on the Arabian Peninsula. Its capital is Sana'a.

Yemenis are mainly of Arab origin.  Arabic is the official language, although English is increasingly understood by citizens in major cities. In the Mahra area (the extreme east) and the island Soqotra, several ancient south-Arabic Semitic languages are spoken. When the former states of north and south Yemen were established, most resident minority groups departed.

Since the country is an Islamic state, the Islamic Law (Sharia) is the main source for laws. Indeed, many court cases are debated according to the religious basis of law, and many judges are religious scholars as well as legal authorities. Unlike Saudi Arabia and other Islamic states, however, consumption of alcohol by non-Muslims is tolerated.  Source

Yemen Facts

Population: 23 million

Capital: Sanaa

Currency: Yemeni rial

Area: 527,968 km2

Language: Arabic

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +967

Time Zone: GMT + 3

Main Cities: Sanaa, Al Hudaydah, Ta’izz, Adan, Al Mukalla, Ibb, Sayyan, Zabid, Bajil, Hajjah