Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Argentina
  • Argentina, officially the Argentine Republic, is a country in South America, constituted as a federation of 23 provinces and an autonomous city, Buenos Aires. It is the second largest country in South America and eighth in the world by land area and the largest among Spanish-speaking nations, though Mexico, Colombia and Spain are more populous.

Its continental area is 2,766,890 km2 (1,068,302 sq mi), between the Andes mountain range in the west and the southern Atlantic Ocean in the east and south. Argentina borders Paraguay and Bolivia to the north, Brazil and Uruguay to the northeast, and Chile to the west and south. Argentina also claims 969,464 km2 (374,312 sq mi) of Antarctica, known as Argentine Antarctica, overlapping other claims made by Chile (Chilean Antarctic Territory) and the United Kingdom (British Antarctic Territory); all such claims have been suspended by the Antarctic Treaty of 1961.

Argentina has the second highest Human Development Index level and the third highest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita in purchasing power parity in Latin America. Argentina's nominal GDP is the 30th largest in the world; but when purchasing power is taken into account, its total GDP makes it the 23rd largest economy in the world.

The country is currently classified as an Upper-Middle Income Country or as a secondary emerging market by the World Bank.  Argentina is also one of the G-20 major economies.  Source

Argentina Facts

Population: 40 million

Capital: Buenos Aires

Currency: Peso

Area: 2,766,890 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +54

Time Zone: GMT - 3

Main Cities: Buenos Aires, Cordoba, Rosario, Mendoza, San Miguel de Tucuman, La Plata, Mar del Plata, Quilmes, Salta, Santa Fe