Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Ecuador
Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador is a representative democratic republic in South America, bordered by Colombia on the north, by Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west. It is one of only two countries in South America (with Chile) that does not have a border with Brazil. The country also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 965 kilometres (600 mi) west of the mainland. Ecuador straddles the equator, from which it takes its name, and has an area of 256,371 square kilometres (98,985 sq mi).

Its capital city is Quito; its largest city is Guayaquil.  On October 9, 1820, Guayaquil became the first city in Ecuador to gain its independence from Spain. On August 10, 1822, the rest of Ecuador gained its independence after Field Marshal Antonio José de Sucre defeated the Spaniard Royalist forces at the Batalla de Pichincha (Battle of Pichincha) near Quito.

Spanish is spoken as the first language by more than 90% of the population and as first and second language by more than 98%. One part of Ecuador's population can speak Amerindian languages, but just as a second language. Two percent of the population speaks only Amerindian languages because they have never attended school.  Source

Ecuador Facts

Population: 14 million

Capital: Quito

Currency: US dollar

Area: 256,370 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +593

Time Zone: GMT – 5

Main Cities: Guayaquil, Quito, Cuenca, Santo Domingo de los Colorados, Machala, Manta, Portoviejo, Duran, Ambato, Riobamba