Falkland Islands

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Falkland Islands
The Falkland Islands are an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean, located 300 miles (480 km) from the coast of Argentina, 671 miles (1,080 km) west of the Shag Rocks (South Georgia), and 584 miles (940 km) north of the British Antarctic Territory (which overlaps with the Argentine and Chilean claims to Antarctica in that region).

There are two main islands, East Falkland and West Falkland, as well as 776 smaller islands. Stanley, on East Falkland, is the capital. The islands are a self-governing Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom, but Argentina has claimed sovereignty since the re-establishment of British rule in 1833.
In pursuit of this claim, which is rejected by the islanders, Argentina invaded the Falkland Islands in 1982. This precipitated the two-month-long undeclared Falklands War between Argentina and the United Kingdom and resulted in the defeat and withdrawal of the Argentine forces. Since the war, there has been strong economic growth in both fisheries and tourism.  Source

Falkland Islands Facts

Population: 3 thousand

Capital: Stanley

Currency: Falkland Islands pound

Area: 12,200 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +500

Time Zone: GMT – 4

Main Cities: Stanley, Goose Green Settlement, Port Howard