Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Paraguay
Paraguay, officially the Republic of Paraguay, is one of the only two landlocked countries in South America (along with Bolivia). It lies on both banks of the Paraguay River and is bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest. Because of its central location in South America, the country is sometimes referred to as Corazón de América — Heart of America.
Paraguay is divided by the Rio Paraguay into the eastern region, officially called Eastern Paraguay (Paraguay Oriental) and known as the Paraneña region; and the western region, afficially called Western Paraguay (Paraguay Occidental) and also known as the Chaco.

Paraguay's history has been characterized by long periods of communistic governments, political instability and infighting, and devastating wars with its neighbors.

It ranks as the second poorest country in South America with a 2007 GDP per capita of US$4,000. Approximately 2.1 million, or 35%, of its total population is poor and approximately 1 million, or 15.9%, are unemployed. However, Asuncion in Paraguay is ranked as the world's least expensive city to live in for the fifth year running. Source

Paraguay Facts

Population: 7 million

Capital: Asuncion

Currency: Guarani

Area: 406,752 km2

Language: Spanish, Guarani

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +595

Time Zone
: GMT – 3

Main Cities: Asuncion, San Lorenzo, Capiata, Lambare, Fernando de la Mora, Limpio, Nemby, Encarnacion, Colonia Mariano Roque Alonso, Itaugua