Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Suriname
Suriname, officially the Republic of Suriname is a country in northern South America. Originally, the country was spelled Surinam by English settlers who founded the first colony at Marshall's Creek, along the Suriname River, and was formerly known as Nederlands Guyana, Netherlands Guiana or Dutch Guiana. Suriname is situated between French Guiana to the east and Guyana to the west. The southern border is shared with Brazil and the northern border is the Atlantic coast. The southernmost border with French Guiana is disputed along the Marowijne river; while a part of the disputed maritime boundary with Guyana was arbitrated by the United Nations Convention on Law of the Sea on September 20, 2007.

Suriname is the smallest sovereign state in terms of area and population in South America. The country is the only Dutch-speaking region in the Western Hemisphere which is not a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Suriname also has the highest percentage of Muslims in both North and South America. Suriname's geographical size is just under 165,000 km², and has an estimated population of about 470,000 people.  Source

Suriname Facts

Population: 471 thousand

Capital: Paramaribo

Currency: Surinamese dollar

Area: 163,821 km2

Language: Dutch

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +597

Time Zone: GMT - 3

Main Cities: Paramaribo, Lelydorp, Nieuw Nickerie, Moengo, Nieuw Amsterdam, Marienburg, Wageningen, Albina, Groningen, Brownsweq