Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Uruguay
Uruguay, is a country located in the southeastern part of South America. It is home to 3.46 million people, of whom 1.7 million live in the capital Montevideo and its metropolitan area.

Uruguay's only land border is with Brazil to the north. To the west lies the Uruguay River, to the southwest lies the estuary of Río de la Plata, with Argentina only a short commute across the banks of either of these bodies of water, while to the southeast lies the South Atlantic Ocean. Uruguay is the second smallest country in South America, larger only than Suriname.

The economy is largely based on agriculture (making up 10% of GDP and the most substantial export) and the state sector. According to Transparency International, Uruguay is the least corrupt country in Latin America (along with Chile), with its political and labor conditions being among the freest on the continent.

An estimated 94.6% of the population are of mostly European descent.  Uruguay is one of the richest countries in the Americas, with a high GDP and the 45th quality of life in the world.  Source

Uruguay Facts

Population: 3 million

Capital: Montevideo

Currency: Uruguayan peso

Area: 176,215 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +598

Time Zone: GMT – 3

Main Cities: Montevideo, Salto, Paysandu, Las Piedras, Rivera, Maldonado, Tacuarembo, Melo, Mercedes, Artigas