Category:   World Travel Directory  :  South America  :  Venezuela
Venezuela is a federal republic, located at the north of South America. It borders north with the Caribbean Sea, east to Guyana, south with Brazil and west with Colombia.

Venezuela territory comprehends about 916,445 km², including 600 islands that form the Federal Dependencies, uncounting the Essequibo area, which has been largely reclaimed by the country.

A country with a large biodiversity, Venezuela is divided into 23 states (estados), the Venezuelan Capital District and the aforementioned dependencies. The capital city is Caracas, where resides the government along the legislative body.

The country gained independence from Spain in 1821, and was one of the three nations that formed the Great Colombia. The economy is most based on the petroleum industry, depending also on the agricultural sector. The official language is Spanish, although several indigenous languages are spoken by aboriginal tribes through the nation.  Source

Venezuela Facts

Population: 27 million

Capital: Caracas

Currency: Bolivar fuerte

Area: 916,445 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christianity 94.7%

Calling Code: +58

Time Zone: GMT - 4

Main Cities: Maracaibo, Caracas, Valencia, Barquisimeto, Ciudad Guayana, Barcelona, Maturin, Puerto la Cruz, Petare, Turmero