Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Anguilla
Anguilla is a British overseas territory in the Caribbean, one of the most northerly of the Leeward Islands in the Lesser Antilles. It consists of the main island of Anguilla itself, approximately 26 km (16 mi) long by 5 km (3.1 mi) wide at its widest point, together with a number of much smaller islands and cays with no permanent population.

The island's capital is The Valley. The total land area of the territory is 102 km2 (39 sq mi), with a population of approximately 13,500 (2006 estimate).

The island was administered by England, and later the United Kingdom, until the early nineteenth century when – against the wishes of the inhabitants – it was incorporated into a single British dependency along with Saint Kitts and Nevis. After two rebellions in 1967 and 1969 and a brief period as a self-declared independent republic headed by Ronald Webster, British rule was fully restored in July, 1971.
Anguilla became a separate British dependency (now termed a British overseas territory) in 1980.

The economy of Anguilla is expanding rapidly, especially the tourism sector which is driving major new developments in partnerships with multi-national companies. This boom, beginning gently during 2005-2006, is accelerating through 2007 and is expected to continue for years. In an effort to prevent overheating, there is currently a moratorium on "non-belongers" (foreigners) buying land in Anguilla.  Source

Anguilla Facts

Population: 13 thousand

Capital: The Valley

Currency: East Caribbean dollar

Area: 102 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +1-264

Time Zone: GMT - 4

Main Cities: The Valley, Stoney Ground, Island Harbour, George Hill, Blowing Point Village, The Farrington, East End Village, Sandy Ground Village