Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Aruba
Aruba is a 33-kilometre (21 mi)-long island of the Lesser Antilles in the southern Caribbean Sea, 27 km (17 mi) north of the Paraguaná Peninsula, Falcón State, Venezuela. Together with Bonaire and Curaçao it forms a group referred to as the ABC islands of the Leeward Antilles, the southern island chain of the Lesser Antilles.

An autonomous region within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Aruba has no administrative subdivisions. Unlike much of the Caribbean region, Aruba has a dry climate and an arid, cactus-strewn landscape. This climate has helped tourism as visitors to the island can reliably expect warm, sunny weather.

It has a land area of 193 km2 (75 sq mi) and lies outside the hurricane belt.

Recently there has been substantial immigration to the island from neighboring American and Caribbean nations, possibly attracted by the higher paid jobs. In 2007, new immigration laws were introduced to help control the growth of the population by restricting foreign workers to a maximum of 3 years residency on the island.  Source

Aruba Facts

Population: 104 thousand

Capital: Oranjestad

Currency: Arubian florin

Area: 193 km2

Languages: Dutch, Papiamento, English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +297

Time Zone: GMT - 4

Main Cities: Babijn, Oranjestad, Angochi, Arasji