Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Bahamas
The Bahamas, officially the Commonwealth of The Bahamas, is an independent, English-speaking country consisting of 2,387 rocks, 661 cays and 29 islands. It is located in the Atlantic Ocean southeast of the United States; northeast to east of Cuba, Hispaniola (Dominican Republic & Haiti) and north to east of the Caribbean Sea; and west to northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Its size is almost 14,000 km2 with an estimated population of 330,000. Its capital is Nassau. It remains a Commonwealth realm.

The origin of the name "Bahamas" is unclear. It may derive from the Spanish baja mar, meaning "shallow seas"; or the Lucayan word for Grand Bahama Island, ba-ha-ma "large upper middle land".

The Bahamas is classified as an upper middle-income developing country and has the third highest per capita income in the western hemisphere (after the United States and Canada). Tourism is the primary economic activity, accounting for about two thirds of the gross domestic product (GDP). Offshore finance is the second largest industry, accounting for about 15 per cent of GDP.  Source

Bahamas Facts

Population: 331 thousand

Capital: Nassau

Currency: Dollar

Area: 13,878 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +1-242

Time Zone: GMT - 4

Main Cities
: Nassau, Lucaya, West End, Cooper’s Town, Marsh Harbour, High Rock, Andros Town, Clarence Town, Dunmore Town, Rock Sound