Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Bermuda
Bermuda; officially, the Bermuda Islands or the Somers Isles is a British overseas territory in the North Atlantic Ocean. Located off the east coast of the United States, it is situated around 1,770 kilometres (1,100 mi) northeast of Miami, Florida, and 1,350 kilometres (840 mi) south of Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

The nearest landmass is Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, about 1,030 kilometres (640 mi) west-northwest. It is the oldest and most populous remaining British overseas territory, settled by England a century before the Acts of Union created the United Kingdom of Great Britain.

Bermuda's first capital, St. George's, was settled in 1612 and is the oldest continuously inhabited English town in the Americas.

Although commonly referred to in the singular, the territory consists of approximately 138 islands, with a total area of 53.3 square kilometres (20.6 sq mi). Compiling a list of these islands is often complicated, as many have more than one name (as does the entire archipelago, which, in addition to its two official names, has historically been known as "La Garza," "Virgineola," and the "Isle of Devils").

Bermuda has a highly affluent economy, with finance as its largest sector followed by tourism, giving it the world's highest GDP per capita in 2005. It has a subtropical climate, beaches with pink sand, and is surrounded by cerulean blue ocean waters. Source

Bermuda Facts

Population: 68 thousand

Capital: Hamilton

Currency: Bermudian dollar

Area: 53.2 km2

Language: English

Main Religion
: Christian

Calling Code: +1-441

Time Zone: GMT - 4

Main Cities: Saint George, Hamilton