Cayman Islands

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Cayman Islands
The Cayman Islands are a British overseas territory located in the western Caribbean Sea. The territory comprises the islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman, located south of Cuba and northwest of Jamaica. The territory is a major offshore financial center in the Caribbean.

The Cayman Islands were sighted by Christopher Columbus, on 10 May 1503 on his fourth and final voyage to the New World. He named them Las Tortugas after the numerous sea turtles there. The first recorded English visitor to the islands was Sir Francis Drake, who landed there in 1586 and named them the Cayman Islands after the Neo-Taino nations term (caiman) for alligator.

With an average income of around $42,000, Caymanians enjoy the highest standard of living in the Caribbean. According to the CIA World Factbook, the Cayman Islands GDP per capita is the 12th highest in the world. 

The islands print their own currency, the Cayman Islands Dollar (KYD), which is pegged to the U.S. dollar at a fixed rate of 1 KYD = 1.20 USD.  However, as of April 17, 2009, U.S. $20 bill is commonly exchanged at merchants for C.I.$16.  Source

Cayman Islands Facts

Population: 52 thousand

Capital: George Town

Currency: Cayman Islands dollar

Area: 260 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +1-345

Time Zone: GMT - 5

Main Cities: George Town, West Bay, Bodden Town, East End, North Side