Dominican Republic

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Dominican Republic
The Dominican Republic is a nation on the island of Hispaniola, part of the Greater Antilles archipelago in the Caribbean region. The western third of the island is occupied by the nation of Haiti, making Hispaniola one of two Caribbean islands that are occupied by two countries, Saint Martin being the other.

Both by area and population, the Dominican Republic is the second largest Caribbean island nation (after Cuba), with 48,442 km² and an estimated 10.1 million people.

The Dominican Republic has become the Caribbean's leading tourist destination; the country's year–round golf courses are among the top attractions.  In this mountainous country is located the Caribbean's highest mountain, Pico Duarte, as is Lake Enriquillo, the Caribbean's largest lake. Quisqueya, as Dominicans often call their country, has a mild average temperature (26 °C) and is outstanding for its great biological diversity.

Music and sport are of the highest importance in Dominican culture, with merengue and baseball preferred.  Source

Dominican Republic Facts

Population: 10 million

Capital: Santo Domingo

Currency: Peso

Area: 48,442 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christianity 95.2%

Calling Code: +1-809, +1-829, +1-849

Time Zone: GMT – 4

Main Cities: Juan Dolio, Santo Domingo, Santiago de los Caballeros, San Pedro de Macoris, La Romana, Benemerita de San Cristobal, San Francisco de Macoris, Salvaleon de Higuey, San Felipe de Puerto Plata, Concepcion de La Vega