El Salvador

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  El Salvador
El Salvador is a country in Central America with a population of 7,066,403 according to July 2008 estimates.  It is bordered to the west by Guatemala, to the north and east by Honduras, and to the south by the Pacific Ocean. It is the most densely populated nation on the American mainland (especially in its capital, San Salvador), and also the most industrialized country in Central America.

Its official name is Republic of El Salvador. The country was named after the Spanish word for "The Saviour", in honor of Jesus Christ, and its territory was known prehispanically as Cuscatlán.

The area of the country is about 21,040 sq km, comparing to a USA area it is slightly smaller than Massachusetts. Of the total area, 20,720 sq km is land and 320 sq km is water. El Salvador has a total of 545 km of boundaries, of which 203 km are in the border with Guatemala, and 342 km are in the border with Honduras. The coastline is 307 km long.

The country is formed by mountains with narrow coastal belt and central plateau. It is known as the Land of Volcanoes, with frequent and sometimes destructive earthquakes and often volcanic activity.

El Salvador is the smallest country in Central America and the only one in that area without coast access to the Caribeean Sea.  Source

El Salvador Facts

Population: 7 million

Capital: San Salvador

Currency: US Dollar

Area: 21,040 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christianity 97.3%

Calling Code: +503

Time Zone: GMT - 6

Main Cities: San Salvador, Soyapango, Santa Ana, San Miguel, Mejicanos, Nueva San Salvador, Apopa, Delgado, Sonsonate, San Marcos