Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Guadeloupe
Guadeloupe is an island group or archipelago located in the eastern Caribbean Sea, with a land area of 1,628 square kilometres (629 sq. mi).  It is an overseas department of France. As with the other overseas departments, Guadeloupe is also one of the twenty-six regions of France (being an overseas region) and an integral part of the Republic.

As part of France, Guadeloupe is part of the European Union; hence, as for most EU countries, its currency is the euro.  However, Guadeloupe does not fall under the Schengen Agreement. The prefecture of Guadeloupe is Basse-Terre.

During his second trip to America, Christopher Columbus became the first European to land on Guadeloupe in November 1493, seeking fresh water. He called it Santa María de Guadalupe de Extremadura, after the image of the Virgin Mary venerated at the Spanish monastery of Villuercas, in Guadalupe, Extremadura. The expedition set ashore just south of Capesterre but did not leave any settlers ashore.  Christopher Columbus is credited with discovering the pineapple on the island of Guadeloupe in 1493, although the fruit had long been grown in South America. He called it piña de Indes meaning "pine of the Indians."

Today the population of Guadeloupe is mostly of African origin with an important European and Indian active population. Lebanese/Syrians, Chinese, and people of many other origins are also present.  Source

Guadeloupe Facts

Population: 406 thousand

Capital: Basse-Terre

Currency: Euro

Area: 1,628 km2

Language: French

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +590

Time Zone: GMT - 4

Main Cities: Les Abymes, Baie-Mahault, Le Gosier, Petit-Bourg, Sainte-Anne, Le Moule, Sainte-Rose, Capesterre-Belle-Eau, Pointe-a-Pitre, Lamentin