Saint Lucia

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  North America  :  Saint Lucia
Saint Lucia is an island nation in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean.[3] Part of the Lesser Antilles, it is located north/northeast of the islands of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, northwest of Barbados and south of Martinique.

Its size is 620 km² with an estimated population of 160,000. Its capital is Castries. The island nation has been the home of two Nobel laureates, Arthur Lewis and Derek Walcott, and so can claim the distinction of being the nation with the most such honorees per capita in the world.

Saint Lucia is one of the Windward Islands, named for Saint Lucy of Syracuse. It was first visited by Europeans in about the year 1500 and first colonized successfully by France who signed a treaty with the native Carib peoples in 1660. Great Britain took control of the island from 1663 to 1667 then went to war with France over it fourteen times, and finally took complete control in 1814. Because it switched so often between British and French control, Lucia was also known as the "Helen of the West Indies" as it was likened to the mythical Helen of Troy. Source

Saint Lucia Facts

Population: 161 thousand

Capital: Castries

Currency: East Caribbean Dollar

Area: 620 km2

Language: English, Creole

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +1-758

Time Zone: GMT – 4

Main Cities: Bisee, Vieux Fort, Micoud, Soufriere, Dennery, Gros Islet, Anse La Raye, Laborie, Canaries, Cap Estate