Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Spain
Spain is a country located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula.  Its mainland is bordered to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea except for a small land boundary with Gibraltar; to the north by France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and Portugal. Spanish territory also includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean off the African coast, and two autonomous cities in North Africa, Ceuta and Melilla, that border Morocco.

With an area of 504,030 km², Spain is the second largest country in Western Europe and European Union after France.

Because of its location, the territory of Spain was subject to many external influences, often simultaneously, since prehistoric times and through the dawn of Spain as a country. On the other side, the country itself has been an important source of influence to other regions, chiefly during the Modern Era, when it became a global empire that has left a legacy of over 400 million Spanish speakers today.

Spain is a democracy organised in the form of a parliamentary government under a constitutional monarchy. It is a developed country with the ninth largest economy by nominal GDP. It is a member of the United Nations, European Union, NATO, OECD, and WTO.
The name Spain was derived from the ancient Roman name for Iberia, Hispania. Source

Spain Facts

Population: 46 million

Capital: Madrid

Currency: Euro

Area: 504,030 km2

Language: Spanish

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +34

Time Zone: GMT + 1
Main Cities: Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, Sevilla, Malaga