Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Angola
Angola, officially the Republic of Angola, is a country in south-central Africa bordered by Namibia on the south, Democratic Republic of the Congo on the north, and Zambia on the east; its west coast is on the Atlantic Ocean.  The exclave province of Cabinda has a border with the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.  

Angola was a Portuguese overseas territory from the 16th century to 1975.

The country is the second-largest petroleum and diamond producer in sub-Saharan Africa; however, its life expectancy and infant mortality rates are both among the worst ranked in the world.

According to the International Monetary Fund, more than $4 billion in oil receipts have disappeared from Angola's treasury in the 2000s.  

In August 2006, a peace treaty was signed with a faction of the FLEC, a separatist guerrilla group from the Cabinda exclave in the North, which is still active. About 65% of Angola's oil comes from that region. Source

Angola Facts

Population: 17 million

Capital: Luanda

Currency: Kwanza

Area: 1,246,700 km2

Language: Portuguese

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +244

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities
: Luanda, Cabinda, Belize, Somalia, Canda, Benquela, Cote, Chinquar, Lobito, Namibe, Moma