Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Benin
Benin, officially the Republic of Benin, is a country in Western Africa. It borders Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north; its short coastline to the south leads to the Bight of Benin. Its size is just over 110,000 km² with a population of almost 8,500,000.

Its capital is the Yoruba founded city of Porto Novo, but the seat of government is the Fon city of Cotonou. Benin was known as Dahomey until 1975.

In 1872, the territory became a French Colony and got independence on August 1, 1960, as the Republic of Benin.  The end to a succession of military governments came in 1972 and a move to representative government had begun by 1989.  Former Prime Minister Nicephore SOGLO became the president two years later, and this was the turning point for Africa, as it changed from a dictatorship to a democracy. Source

Benin Facts

Population: 8 million

Capital: Porto-Novo

Currency: West African CFA franc

Area: 112,612 km2

Language: French

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +229

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Cotonou, Ouidah, Natitingou, Ganvie, Porto-Novo, Grand Popo