Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Botswana
The Republic of Botswana is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. Citizens of Botswana are called "Batswana" (singular: Motswana), regardless of ethnicity. Formerly a British protectorate of Bechuanaland, Botswana adopted its new name after becoming independent within the Commonwealth on 30 September 1966.

It is bordered by South Africa to the south and southeast, Namibia to the west, Zambia to the north, and Zimbabwe to the northeast.

The country is home to a relatively stable political system and a rapidly developing economy. Being closely tied with the economy of South Africa, the country's economy is one of the most successful in Africa and is dominated by the fast-growing service sector, world-renowned diamond industry, tourism, and manufacturing.  Source

Botswana Facts

Population: 2 million

Capital: Gaborone

Currency: Pula

Area: 600,370 km2

Language: Setswana, English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +267

Time Zone: GMT + 2

Main Cities: Gaborone, Francistown, Lobatse, Okavango Delta, Maun, Kasane, Chobe, Ghanzi, Nata, Ranaka, Dukwi, Moremi, Sua, Palapye