Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Gambia
The Gambia (officially the Republic of The Gambia) commonly known as Gambia, is a country in Western Africa. The Gambia is the smallest country on mainland Africa, bordered to the north, east, and south by Senegal, and has a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean in the west. Its borders roughly correspond to the path of the Gambia River, the nation's namesake, which flows through the country's center and empties into the Atlantic Ocean.

On 18 February 1965, Gambia was granted independence from the United Kingdom and joined The Commonwealth. Banjul is Gambia's capital, but the largest conurbation is Serrekunda.

The Gambia shares historical roots with many other west African nations in the slave trade, which was key to the establishment of a colony on the Gambia river, first by the Portuguese and later by the British.

Since gaining independence in 1965, the Gambia has enjoyed relative stability, with the exception of a brief period of military rule in 1994. An agriculturally rich country, its economy is dominated by farming, fishing, and tourism. Source

Gambia Facts

Population: 2 million

Capital: Banjul

Currency: Dalasi

Area: 10,380 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +220

Time Zone: GMT

Main Cities: Bakau, Banjul, Kololi,  Serekunda, Berending, Lamin Town, Barra, Amdalaye, Brikama, Brufut, Fajara, Janjanbureh, Njawara, Kanuma, Kuntair, Tanji, Kotu, Sifoe