Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Mauritania
Mauritania, officially the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, is a country in northwest Africa. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the west, by Senegal on the southwest, by Mali on the east and southeast, by Algeria on the northeast, and by the Morocco-controlled Western Sahara on the northwest.

It is named after the ancient Berber kingdom of Mauretania. The capital and largest city is Nouakchott, located on the Atlantic coast.

The civilian government of Mauritania was overthrown on 6 August 2008, in a military coup d'état led by General Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz. On April 16, 2009, General Aziz resigned from the military to run for president in the upcoming June elections.  Source

Mauritania Facts

Population: 3 million

Capital: Nouakchott

Currency: Ouguiya

Area: 1,030,700 km2

Language: Arabic, French

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +222

Time Zone: GMT + 0

Main Cities: Kayhaydi, Kifah, Nawadibu, Nouakchott, Rusu