Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Mauritius
Mauritius, officially the Republic of Mauritius, is an island nation off the coast of the African continent in the southwest Indian Ocean, about 900 kilometres (560 mi) east of Madagascar.

In addition to the island of Mauritius, the Republic includes the islands of St. Brandon, Rodrigues and the Agalega Islands. Mauritius is part of the Mascarene Islands, with the French island of Réunion 200 km (125 mi) to the southwest and the island of Rodrigues 570 km (350 mi) to the northeast.

The island of Mauritius is renowned for having been the only known home of the dodo. The dodo is a lesson in extinction. First sighted around 1600 on Mauritius, the dodo was extinct less than eighty years later. Source

Mauritius Facts

Population: 1 million

Capital: Port Louis

Currency: Mauritian Rupee

Area: 2,040 km2

Language: English, Mauritian Creole

Main Religion: Hindu

Calling Code
: +230

Time Zone: GMT + 4

Main Cities: Beau Bassin-Rose Hill, Curepipe, Port Louis, Quatre Bornes, Vascoas-Phoenix