Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Mayotte
Mayotte, officially the Departmental Collectivity of Mayotte, is an overseas collectivity of France consisting of a main island, Grande-Terre (or Mahoré), a smaller island, Petite-Terre (or Pamanzi), and several islets around these two.

Mayotte is in the northern Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean, between northern Madagascar and northern Mozambique. The territory is geographically part of the Comoro Islands, but has been politically separate since the 1970s. The territory is also known as Mahoré, the native name of its main island, especially by advocates of its inclusion in the Union of Comoros.

A referendum on becoming an overseas department of France in 2011 was held on 29 March 2009. The outcome was a 95.5 per cent vote in favour of changing the island's status from a French "overseas community" to become France's 101st département.  Source

Mayotte Facts

Population: 186 thousand

Capital: Mamoudzou

Currency: Euro

Area: 374 km2

Language: French

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +262

Time Zone: GMT + 3

Main Cities: Mamoudzou, Dzaoudzi, Koungou, Pamanzi, Sada