Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Austria
Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It borders Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. Its capital city is Vienna.

The origins of modern Austria date back to the ninth century, when the countryside of upper and lower Austria became increasingly populated. The name "Ostarrichi" is first documented in an official document from 996. Since then this word has developed into the German word Österreich.

Austria is a parliamentary representative democracy consisting of nine federal states and is one of six European countries that have declared permanent neutrality and one of the few countries that includes the concept of everlasting neutrality in their constitution. Austria has been a member of the United Nations since 1955 and joined the European Union in 1995. Source

Austria Facts

Population: 8.3 million

Capital: Vienna

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Area: 83,858 sq km

Language: Austrian German,
Main Religion: Roman Catholic 78%

Calling Code: +43

Time Zone
: GMT +1

Main Cities
: Vienna, Graz, Innsbruck, Klagenfurt, Linz, Salzburg