Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Reunion
Réunion is an island located in the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar, about 200 km (130 miles) south west of Mauritius, the nearest island.

Administratively, Réunion is one of the overseas départements of France. Like the other overseas departments, Réunion is also one of the twenty-six regions of France (being an overseas region) and an integral part of the Republic with the same status as those situated on the European mainland.

Réunion is an outermost region of the European Union and, as an overseas department of France, is part of the Eurozone.

Due to its location in a time zone to the east of Europe, Réunion was the first region in the world where the euro became legal tender. Source

Reunion Facts

Population: 802 thousand

Capital: Saint-Denis

Currency: French Franc

Area: 2,512 km2

Language: French

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +262

Time Zone: GMT + 4

Main Cities: Le Tampon, Saint-Denis, Saint-Paul, Saint-Pierre