Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Rwanda
The Republic of Rwanda is a small landlocked country in the Great Lakes region of east-central Africa, bordered by Uganda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Tanzania.

Home to approximately 10.1 million people, Rwanda supports the densest population in continental Africa, most of whom engage in subsistence agriculture. A verdant country of fertile and hilly terrain, the small republic bears the title "Land of a Thousand Hills".

The country has received considerable international attention due to its 1994 genocide, in which between 800,000 and one million people were killed. In 2008, Rwanda became the first country in history to elect a national legislature in which a majority of members were women. Source

Rwanda Facts

Population: 10 million

Capital: Kigali

Currency: Rwanda franc

Area: 26,798 km2

Language: Kinyarwanda, French, English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +250

Time Zone: GMT + 2

Main Cities: Butare, Gisenyi, Kibungo, Kigali, Ruhengeri