Sierra Leone

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Sierra Leone
Sierra Leone, officially the Republic of Sierra Leone, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Guinea in the north, Liberia in the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean in the southwest.

Sierra Leone covers a total area of 71,740 km2 (27,699 sq mi) and has a population estimated at 6,296,803. The country has a tropical climate, with a diverse environment ranging from savannah to rainforests.

Freetown is the capital, seat of government, and largest city. Bo is the second largest city. Other major cities in the country with a population over 100,000 are Kenema, Koidu Town and Makeni.

Although English is the official language spoken at schools and government administration, Krio (language derived from English and several West African languages and is native to the Sierra Leone Krio people) is the lingua franca spoken throughout the country. The Krio language unites all the different ethnic groups, especially in their trade and interaction with each other. Source

Sierra Leone Facts

Population: 6 million

Capital: Freetown

Currency: Leone

Area: 71,740 km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Muslim

Calling Code: +232

Time Zone: GMT +0

Main Cities
: Bo, Freetown, Kenema, Koidu, Koindu, Makeni