Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Algeria
Algeria, officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is a country located in North Africa.

It is the largest country on the Mediterranean sea, the second largest on the African continent and the eleventh-largest country in the world in terms of land area.

It is bordered by Tunisia in the northeast, Libya in the east, Niger in the southeast, Mali and Mauritania in the southwest, a few kilometers of the Western Sahara in the west, Morocco in the northwest, and the Mediterranean Sea in the north.

Its size is almost 2,400,000 km2 with an estimated population near to 35,000,000. The capital of Algeria is Algiers.

Algeria is a member of the Arab League, United Nations, African Union and OPEC. It also contributed towards the creation of the Arab Maghreb Union. Source

Algeria Facts

Population: 34 million

Capital: Algiers

Currency: Algerian Dinar

Area: 2,381,741 km

Language: Arabic
Main Religion: Sunni Muslim 99%

Calling Code: +213

Time Zone: GMT +1

Main Cities: Algiers, Annaba, Batna, Bechar, Constantine, Oran, Sétif, Tamanrasset