Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Africa  :  Zambia
The Republic of Zambia is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. The neighbouring countries are the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west.

The capital city is Lusaka, located in the southeast of the country. The population is concentrated mainly around the capital Lusaka in the south and the Copperbelt to the northwest.

Zambia has been inhabited for thousands of years by hunter-gatherers and migrating tribes. After sporadic visits by European explorers starting in the 18th century, Zambia was gradually claimed and occupied by the British as protectorate of Northern Rhodesia towards the end of the nineteenth century. On 24 October 1964, the protectorate gained independence with the new name of Zambia, derived from the Zambezi river which flows through the country.

After independence the country moved towards a system of one party rule with Kenneth Kaunda as president. Kaunda dominated Zambian politics until multiparty elections were held in 1991.

Zambia's economy has been traditionally dominated by the copper mining industry; however, the government has recently been pursuing an economic diversification programme. During the 1970s, the country began sliding into a poverty from which it has not recovered. Zambia's total foreign debt before HIPC completion exceeded $6 billion in 2000. The average per capita income is US $800 (World Bank, 2007). 51% of the population are reportedly living on less than one dollar per day.  Source

Zambia Facts

Population: 12 million

Capital: Lusaka

Currency: Zambian Kwacha

Area: 752,618  km2

Language: English

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +260

Time Zone: GMT + 2

Main Cities: Chingola, Kabwe, Kitwe, Lusaka, Ndola