Faroe Islands

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Faroe Islands
The Faroe Islands is a country situated between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately half way between Scotland and Iceland. Together with Denmark and Greenland, it forms the Kingdom of Denmark.

The Faroe Islands have been an autonomous province of Denmark since 1948. The Faroese have, over the years, taken control of most matters except defense (though they retain their own coast guard), foreign affairs and law, which remain the responsibility of Denmark.

The Faroes have close traditional ties to Iceland, Norway, Shetland, Orkney, the Outer Hebrides and Greenland. The archipelago was politically detached from Norway in 1814. The Faroes are represented in the Nordic Council as a part of the Danish delegation. Source

Faroe Islands Facts

Population: 49 thousand

Capital: Torshavn

Currency: Faroese krona

Area: 1,399 km2

Language: Faroese, Danish

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code
: +298

Time Zone: GMT, GMT + 1 (Summer)

Main Cities: Torshavn, Klaksvik