Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Oceania  :  Micronesia
Micronesia is the name of a region in the Pacific Ocean. The Philippines lie to the northwest, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea and Melanesia to the west and southwest, and Polynesia to the east. This region of Oceania consists of many hundreds of small islands spread over a large region of the western Pacific.

The only empire known to have originated in Micronesia was based in Yap. The term "Micronesia" was first proposed to distinguish the region in 1831 by Jules Dumont d'Urville; before this the term "Polynesia" was in use to generally describe the islands of the Pacific.

Politically, Micronesia is divided between eight territories: the Federated States of Micronesia, comprising Kosrae, Yap, Pohnpei, and Chuuk; the Republic of the Marshall Islands; the Republic of Palau; the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands; the Republic of Nauru; the Republic of Kiribati; the Territory of Guam and the Territory of Wake Island. Source

Micronesia Facts

Population: 170 thousand

Capital: Palikir, Pohnpei Island

Currency: USD

Area: 28,748 km

Language: Austronesian
Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +691

Time Zone: GMT +12

Nation Territories: Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Wake Island