American Samoa

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Oceania  :  American Samoa
American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of the sovereign state of Samoa, formerly known as Western Samoa.

The main (largest and most populous) island is Tutuila, with the Manu?a Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island also included in the territory.

American Samoa is part of the Samoan Islands chain, located west of the Cook Islands, north of Tonga, and some 300 miles (500 km) south of Tokelau. To the west are the islands of the Wallis and Futuna group. The 2000 census showed a total population of 57,291. The total land area is 200.22 km² (77.305 sq mi). Source

American Samoa Facts

Population:  66 thousand

Capital: Pago Pago

Currency: USD

Area: 199 km2

Language: English, Samoan

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +1 684

Time Zone: GMT - 11

Main Cities: Pago Pago, Aua, Fagatogo, Faleniu, Leone, Faga'alu, Ili'ili, Malaeimi, Mapusagafou, Ni’uuli, Pava’ja’j, Tafuna, Vaitogi