Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Hungary
Hungary, officially the Republic of Hungary, is a landlocked country in the Carpathian Basin of Central Europe, bordered by Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, and Slovenia. Its capital is Budapest. Hungary is a member of OECD, NATO, EU, Visegrád Group and is a Schengen state. The official language is Hungarian, which is part of the Finno-Ugric family. It is one of the 23 official languages of the European Union and one of four that is not of Indo-European origin.

Following a disastrous alliance with Nazi Germany during World War II, the kingdom was occupied by the Soviet Union which imposed a Communist government from 1947 to 1989. Hungary gained widespread international recognition by mounting the Revolution of 1956 and the seminal move of opening its border with Austria in 1989, thus accelerating the collapse of the Eastern Bloc.

The present form of government is parliamentary republic (since 1989). Today, Hungary is a relatively high-income economy, and a regional leader regarding certain markers.

In the past decade, Hungary was listed as the 10th most economically dynamic areaand one of the 15 most popular tourist destinations in the world, with a capital regarded as one of the most "beautiful urban landscapes in the world". The country is home to the second largest thermal lake in the world (Lake Hévíz), the largest lake in Central Europe (Lake Balaton), and the largest natural grassland in Europe. Source

Hungary Facts

Population: 10 million

Capital: Budapest

Currency: Forint

Area: 93,030 km2

Language: Hungarian

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +36

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Budapest, Debrecen, Miskolc, Szeged, Pecs, Gyor, Nyiregyhaza, Szekesfehervar, Kecskemet, Szombathely, Szolnok, Tatabanya, Veszprem, Kaposvar, Zalaegerszeg, Bekescsaba, Eger, Dunaujvaros, Nagykanizsa, Sopron