Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Latvia
Latvia, officially Republic of Latvia is a North European Baltic country in the European Union. It is bordered to the north by Estonia (343 km), to the south by Lithuania (588 km), and to the east both by Belarus (141 km) and the Russian Federation (276 km).  Across the Baltic Sea to the west lies Sweden. The territory of Latvia covers 64,589 km² and has a temperate seasonal climate.

The Latvians are a Baltic people culturally related to the Estonians and Lithuanians, with the Latvian language having many similarities with Lithuanian, but not with the Estonian language.

Today the Latvian and Lithuanian languages are the only surviving members of the Baltic languages of the Indo-European family. The modern name of Latvia is thought to originate from the ancient Latvian name Latvji, which, like the name of Lithuania, may have originated from the river named Latva or Latuva, which may be today's Lates upe.

Latvia is a unitary democratic parliamentary republic and is divided into 26 districts. The capital and largest city is Riga. Latvia has been a member of the United Nations since 17 September 1991, of the European Union since 1 May 2004 and of NATO since 29 March 2004. Source

Latvia Facts

Population: 2 million

Capital: Riga

Currency: Lats

Area: 64,589 km2

Language: Latvian

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +371

Time Zone: GMT + 2

Main Cities: Riga, Daugavpils, Liepaja, Jelgava, Jurmala, Ventspils, Rezekne, Valmiera,  Jekabspils, Ogre, Cesis, Tukums, Salaspils, Kuldiga,  Olaine, Talsi, Dobele, Saldus, Kraslava, Ludza