Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Liechtenstein
The Principality of Liechtenstein is a landlocked alpine microstate in Western Europe, bordered by Switzerland to the west and by Austria to the east.

Liechtenstein is the smallest German-speaking country in the world. It is a constitutional monarchy divided into 11 municipalities. Its capital is Vaduz.

Much of Liechtenstein's terrain is mountainous, making it a winter sports destination. Many cultivated fields and small farms characterize its landscape both in the north (Unterland) and in the south (Oberland).

The country has a strong financial sector and has been identified as a tax haven. It is a member of the European Free Trade Agreement. Liechtenstein is not part of the European Union and has shown no interest in joining. Source

Liechtenstein Facts

Population: 35 thousand

Capital: Vaduz

Currency: Liechtenstein frank, Swiss franc

Area: 160.4 km2

Language: German

Main Religion
: Christian

Calling Code: +423

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Schaan, Vaduz, Triesen, Balzers, Eschen, Mauren, Triesenberg, Ruggel, Gamprin, Schellenberg